Award of Excellence and Innovation in IR

Since its establishment in 2012, the Award of Excellence and Innovation in Interventional Radiology has been given to some of the most innovative physicians in the field. 

This year, one winner has been chosen from a number of deserving applicants. The winner of the Award of Excellence and Innovation in IR 2018 is Maxim Itkin, who has been given this award for his development of new imaging and intervention techniques of the lymphatic system.

Maxim Itkin will officially receive the award at the CIRSE 2018 Opening and Awards Ceremony in Lisbon.

The Winner 

Maxim Itkin is seen as one of the pioneers of developing imaging and treating techniques for disorders related to the lymphatic system from an IR perspective. His long-standing dedication to the field is demonstrated through some of the achievements in his career which among others include introducing a novel treatment algorithm for idiopathic chylothorax as well as developing a new way to perform lymphangiogram through the groin lymph nodes. Maxim Itkin has held a number of high profile positions in different hospitals throughout Philadelphia, including the Penn Presybterian Medical Center and the VA Medical Center. He is currently the director of the HUP/CHOP Center for Lymphatic Imaging and Interventions at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia/USA.

CIRSE would like to warmly thank the R.W. Günther Foundation for funding the award.